Sunday, May 01, 2016

Five of the best SF books about war and military culture

Sean Danker is currently serving in the military on a base in North Dakota. His new book, Admiral, is the first book in a new military SF series. At Danker tagged five of his favorite SF books about war and military culture, including:
The Forever War by Joe Haldeman

A classic Vietnam allegory that’s influenced many writers. The Forever War isn’t just an intelligent and dignified political commentary; it’s an engaging and personal science fiction novel that’s well done on every level. Haldeman breaks down the philosophy underlying modern militaries and the wars they fight, giving elegant and balanced acknowledgement to war’s necessity, and its absurdity. It’s a bit like Heinlein’s Starship Troopers, but with slightly more gravitas, and infinitely more soul.
Read about another book on the list.

The Forever War made Becky Ferreira's top ten list of best books for fans of The Twilight Zone, Emily Stamm and Charlie Jane Anders's list of the ten best science fiction stories where humans are the villains and Charlie Jane Anders's list of the 12 greatest science fiction war stories.

--Marshal Zeringue