Sunday, March 17, 2019

Four books that changed Fiona McCallum

Fiona McCallum was raised on a farm in South Australia. She now lives in suburban Adelaide, but remains a country girl at heart. McCallum writes "heart-warming journey of self-discovery stories" that draw on her life experiences, love of animals and fascination with the human condition. She is the author of ten Australian bestsellers. A Life of Her Own will be her eleventh novel.

One of four books that changed the author, as shared at the Sydney Morning Herald:
Joan Lindsay

This is the book that got me back into reading as a young adult after finishing school and starting my working life. I think subliminally it also instilled in me the importance of the right setting and how it can be a character in its own right. My copy is a beautifully illustrated edition, which adds further weight to the fabulous intrigue about whether the story is fact or fiction. It's such a clever device.
Read about another entry on the list.

Picnic at Hanging Rock is among Jeff Somers's six famous novels without an ending.

--Marshal Zeringue