Friday, September 29, 2006

So Nabokov didn't win a Nobel Prize... least he's got an asteroid named after him.

Take that, Pearl Buck.

Other non-winners of a Nobel Prize for Literature include Tolstoy, Ibsen, Strindberg, Zola, Hardy, Gorky, Freud, Mandelstam, Akhmatova, Joyce, Conrad, D. H. Lawrence, Garcia Lorca, Rilke, Stevens, Brecht, Lowell and Calvino.

(Hat tip to the NABOKV-L listserv)

--Marshal Zeringue